World of Warcraft, World of Warcraft Betas 0 comments on Legion Beta – Demon Hunter Starting Zone

Legion Beta – Demon Hunter Starting Zone

I was fortunate enough to have gotten into the World of Warcraft Legion Beta.  I immediately rolled a Night Elf Demon Hunter so I could see what the new class was like.  It didn’t take long for me to see that it is a really fun class to play.

I’d been holding off on posting my screenshots from my experience in the Legion Beta (just in case some of them turned out to be “spoilers”.)  The Legion expansion was released on August 30, 2016.  About a month has passed since then.  The screenshots I’m including in this blog are from the Demon Hunter starting zone.

Continue Reading “Legion Beta – Demon Hunter Starting Zone”

Candy Crush Saga, Other Video Games 0 comments on Candy Crush Saga: Sweet Surprise

Candy Crush Saga: Sweet Surprise

Episode 15 of Candy Crush Saga is called Sweet Surprise.  It starts out with a gigantic, colorful, cake.  The little girl character stares at it and has a question mark over her head.  I spent the whole Episode wondering what was going to pop out of that cake.

The answer is revealed after a player completed every level in Episode 15.  The answer makes sense in a way, but also left me with many questions.

Continue Reading “Candy Crush Saga: Sweet Surprise”

Neko Atsume, Other Video Games 0 comments on Neko Atsume: Ms. Fortune

Neko Atsume: Ms. Fortune

Ms. Fortune is one of the “Rare Cats” in Neko Atsume. The way to attract one of the special cats is to figure out what items they prefer and to put those items into your yard/house. Eventually, the cat you are trying to convince to visit you will appear.

Some special cats like one particular item, and others are interested in two items. There is only one item that can cause Ms. Fortune to appear. It is the Cardboard House. I had great difficulty getting Ms. Fortune to visit the Cardboard House!

Continue Reading “Neko Atsume: Ms. Fortune”

Book Reviews, science fiction 0 comments on Blood Sky – by Traci L. Slatton

Blood Sky – by Traci L. Slatton

Blood Sky is the fourth part of The After Series.  I highly recommend that you read the first three books: Fallen, Cold Lightand Far Shore.  You will get much more out of Blood Sky if you take the time to read through the earlier portions of the story first.  Relationships are made, and broken, and sometimes repaired along the way.

Traci L. Slatton does a good job of reminding readers about the most significant things that happened in the previous books.  This is not meant as a replacement for reading them, though.  It is important that you “live through that” with the characters before jumping into the fourth book of the series.  One of the things I love about Slatton’s books is that she makes the reader truly care about what happens to the characters (both major and minor).

Continue Reading “Blood Sky – by Traci L. Slatton”

Other Video Games 0 comments on Epic Win

Epic Win

Epic Win is not exactly a video game, but it kind of feels like one.  It takes the typical, boring, “to-do list” and adds gamification. Personally, I find that it gives me a little bit more motivation to get some tasks done.

You start by picking one of several pre-made characters.  Next, put in some tasks that you want to complete.  Those tasks can be anything you want.  After you complete the task, make sure to indicate that in Epic Win.  This will help your character to level up, and will move that character closer to obtaining loot.
Continue Reading “Epic Win”

Neko Atsume, Other Video Games 0 comments on Neko Atsume: Conductor Whiskers

Neko Atsume: Conductor Whiskers

Conductor Whiskers is one of the “Rare Cats” in Neko Atsume.  The way to attract one of the special cats to your yard/home is to place items that a specific cat likes.  With some luck, that cat will (eventually) come visit.

Conductor Whiskers likes two different items.  He will appear and use the Twisty Rail and the Cardboard Choo-Choo.  Conductor Whiskers is a cat that is attracted to trains.  Many of the other Neko Atsume cats will also use those two items.

Continue Reading “Neko Atsume: Conductor Whiskers”

Diablo III, Diablo Seasons 2 comments on Season Journey Slayer (Season 7)

Season Journey Slayer (Season 7)

slayer-season-seven-completedPlayers who want to earn the special rewards that are offered during a Season need to complete the Season Journey Chapters I – IV.  It’s fine to stop after that if all you wanted was those rewards.

That being said, there is more to the Season Journey than the Chapters.  If you choose to continue, the next portion is called Slayer.  It provides extra challenges for players. Those who complete Slayer will unlock more parts of the Season Journey.

Continue Reading “Season Journey Slayer (Season 7)”

Candy Crush Saga, Other Video Games 0 comments on Candy Crush Saga: Caramel Cove

Candy Crush Saga: Caramel Cove

Episode 14 of Candy Crush Saga is called Caramel Cove.  It starts with a really odd story line.  A large, orange, creature is running around in a panic.

There is a talking Tiki that explains that the orange creature is a volcano that is angry.   This volcano is spewing fudge, instead of lava.

It bothers me that King (maker of Candy Crush Saga) used a talking Tiki as a character.  Tikis are mythical symbols that represent Hawaiian gods.  It is not ok to appropriate religious symbols and turn them into a character in a video game.

Continue Reading “Candy Crush Saga: Caramel Cove”

Out of Spoons, Spoonie Writing 0 comments on When Optimality Isn’t Optimal and Gluten-Free is Optional

When Optimality Isn’t Optimal and Gluten-Free is Optional

It all started with a news article that was retweeted into my  Twitter feed.  The article was very short, and reported that many people were going gluten-free even though they had absolutely no medical reason to do so.

The person who was retweeted into my Twitter feed is someone I do not know. She commented: “I’ll say it again, Unless you have a diagnosed condition, gluten free is not a “healthier” option”. According to the person’s Twitter bio, she is a PhD Researcher (Molecular Nutrition). I’m inclined to believe that she knows what she’s tweeting about.

This got me to wondering about something. Why would a healthy person willingly choose to restrict their diet unnecessarily?

Continue Reading “When Optimality Isn’t Optimal and Gluten-Free is Optional”

Other Video Games, Pokémon GO 0 comments on Pokémon GO: Leveling Up

Pokémon GO: Leveling Up

Pokémon GO, like many other video games, allows players to level up their character.  All you need to do is keep playing the game as you usually would and gather experience points.  No matter how you play, you will be able to level your character.

Personally, I just play the game and have fun and figure I’ll reach a new level whenever it happens.  I’m sure there must be ways to maximize your ability to level and to do it in the most efficient way possible.

In this blog, I have screenshots from when my character leveled up in Pokémon GO.  I will add more to this blog when I reach a new level.

Continue Reading “Pokémon GO: Leveling Up”